Formula E: Mitch Evans wins 1st Seoul ePrix

Formula E: Mitch Evans wins 1st Seoul ePrix

PARIS – New Zealander Mitch Evans (Jaguar) won the first race of the Seoul Electric Formula ePrix on Saturday and remains in contention for the title which will be decided in the second race on Sunday.

He beat the Englishman Oliver Rowland (Mahindra) and the Brazilian Luca Di Grassi (Venturi). This is the 4th win of the season for Mitch Evans, 28, and the 5th since running in Formula Electric.

Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes) finished 5th and remains at the top of the championship with 195 points, 21 ahead of Evans with 29 points remaining to be shared on Sunday (25 for the win, three for the lead and one for the leg. record).

A major accident involving seven cars occurred on the first lap of the track which is still wet. Without paying attention to the pilots, however, he saw the Dutchman Nyck de Vries (Mercedes) staying for many minutes stuck in his car which found itself under the Swiss Sebastien Buemi (Nissan).

After the red flag, a 2nd start was held, which saw Evans start ahead of lead holder Rowland never to go away again.

Frenchman Jean-Éric Vergne (DS-Techeetah) has been eliminated from the title race after finishing 6th, along with Swiss Edoardo Mortara (Venturi) who had to retire with a puncture.

On the team side, Mercedes still lead the qualifying before the final race ahead of Venturi and DS-Techeetah.

The 16th and final race of the 2022 world championship will be held at this circuit on Sunday.

Lineup for race 1 of the Seoul ePrix, round 15 of 16 of the World Series of Electric Power Championship :

1. Mitch Evans (NZL / Jaguar) in 1 hour 29 minutes 55 seconds

2. Olivier Rowland (GBR/Mahindra) +0.820

3. Lucas di Grassi (BRA/Venturi) +1.393

4. Jake Dennis (GBR/Andretti) +1.902

5. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL/Mercedes) +2.470

6. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/DS-Techeetah) +3.957

7. Pascal Wehrlein (GER/Porsche) +4.149

8. Robin Frijns (NED/Envision) +4.508

9. Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT / DS-Techeetah) +4.970

10. Nick Cassidy (NZL-Environment +5.325

13. Norman Nato (FRA/Jaguar) +57.545

The provisional classification of the world drivers’ championship after 15 of 16 races :

1. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) 195 points

2. Mitch Evans (NZL) 174

3. Edoardo Mortara (SUI) 144

4. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) 136

5. Lucas di Grassi (BRA/Venturi) 126

The provisional classification of the world constructors’ championship after 15 of 16 races :

1. Mercedes: 301 points

2. Venturi: 270

3. DS-Techeetah: 254

4. Jaguar: 225

5. Vision: 177